The Cytonus team

Remo Moomiaie-Qajar, MD

Remo Moomiaie-Qajar, MD
Founder and CEO

Dr. Moomiaie-Qajar has served as Cytonus’ chief executive officer since our inception, having successfully led the spin-out of Cytonus from University of California San Diego (UCSD) in 2018 to change the paradigms of cancer therapy, regenerative medicine, vaccine development, and treatment of inflammatory diseases using Cytonus’ platform of biomolecular delivery transporters called Cargocytes. He is a trained surgeon from Yale University with a long history of developing innovative technologies in medicine and transforming them into commercially-viable products. Remo holds many US and international patents, and has 15 years of experience incubating technologies from venture-stage to exit. Previously, he funded or launched numerous companies while managing a life sciences seed fund and actively supporting National Angel Investment Groups. He also founded and led Remo CRO, which specializes in Clinical Trial design and management for the Pharmaceutical, Biotechnology, and Medical Device industries. His international full-service contract research organization has offices in Columbus (OH), Pittsburgh (PA), London (UK), Rotterdam (Netherlands), and Belgrade (Serbia). Dr. Moomiaie-Qajar’s background as an academic researcher, physician, and entrepreneur brings a unique trifecta of perspective and experience to Cytonus.

Richard Klemke, PhD

Richard Klemke, PhD
Founder and CSO

Dr. Klemke has over 25 years of experience working in academia and the biotechnology sectors in the San Diego area. Dr. Klemke is Professor of Pathology and Cancer Biology at the University of California San Diego School of Medicine and Moores Cancer Center, where he serves as the director of the Cancer Imaging Network and the Pathology Department’s Proteomics Center of Excellence. He earned his Ph.D. in Molecular Cell Biology from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Dr. Klemke was a research scientist in the immunology department at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) before joining UC San Diego and Moores in 2006. He has been an active consultant in the biotech and pharmaceutical industries for more than two decades, and is the founder of BioSystems Consulting in San Diego. He is internationally recognized for his work in stem cell biology, carcinogenesis, and therapeutic drug development, using proteomics, computational biology, and unique cell-based and preclinical animal models of cancer. His work has produced novel therapeutics directed at cancer and has unlocked newfound insights and concepts that explain how malignant tumors develop and avoid the immune system to spread through the body.


Christopher Thorne, JD-MBA

Chris Thorne, JD-MBA

Chris is a seasoned executive and noted investor who has worked in a number of industries in senior leadership positions. He currently serves as executive chairman of Broadline Capital, the global alternative investment firm. Founded in 2005, Broadline primarily focuses on growth capital and impact investments in North America and Asia, and has backed numerous innovative companies in life sciences and technology from venture-stage through IPO. Previously, Chris served as a senior management consultant at McKinsey & Co., where he managed strategic and operational programs for Fortune 500 clients. After serving leadership roles there, he left the firm to execute on his entrepreneurial vision by launching a category-leading SaaS company whose on-demand intelligence solutions create efficiency gains for F&B manufacturers, distributors and retail operators by converting paper-based processes into paperless digital transactions throughout the entire value chain. He then initiated a roll-up of tech companies with backing from Accel-KKR. The resulting company successfully sold to Roper Technologies for greater than a half billion dollars. Chris holds three degrees from Harvard, where he founded the Harvard Negotiation Law Review, was elected president of the university-wide student government, and competed in intercollegiate rugby, wrestling, and soccer. He has served directorships for private companies, NYSE-listed public companies, as well as 501(c)3 nonprofits including Creative Commons, the Silicon Valley nonprofit that promotes educational access at a global scale.

Manisha Narasimhan, PhD

Manisha Narasimhan, Ph.D

Manisha Narasimhan, Ph.D was recently ranked #1 by Institutional Investor for Best Investor Relations Professional, Best IR Team, and Best IR Program in the pharmaceuticals sector, according to the 2020 All-America Executive Team rankings. She has wide-ranging expertise as a scientist, a financial executive and a highly effective communicator. Prior to joining Allergan, Dr. Narasimhan led the investor relations group at Regeneron Pharmaceuticals. She was previously an equity research analyst covering biotechnology at Canaccord Genuity and Piper Jaffray. Dr. Narasimhan began her career as a strategic management consultant for biotechnology and life science clients at Campbell Alliance. She received her Ph.D. in molecular biology from New York University.